I’m no longer advocating for clean energy; here’s why.

“Realism never makes for a good copy, as long as there are people who make a living from selling a dream instead”

Perhaps those that remain in the quagmire will speak of this one who got out.
Maybe not.

The unpublished notebooks of J. M. Korhonen

My Finnish readers will already know that I announced some time ago that I’m done with energy/climate change discussions. I’ve been following the debate actively since about 2007 and have been writing about it since late 2010. I’ve written two books about the topic, one of which is translated to five languages, and blogged fairly regularly. But now it’s time to do something else.

The main reason why I’m refocusing is because I think the debate is going nowhere, and I don’t want to waste my time on a futile project. We are not going to get a decarbonized energy system by 2050. We are going to fail the climate targets, probably by a large margin, and I suspect that a warming of about 3 degrees centigrade is going to be almost inevitable. It’s perfectly possible that self-amplifying feedback mechanisms under way will amplify this change even more. What…

View original post 1,751 more words

Leave a Reply

